30.2 C
Friday, March 1, 2024

Equator Prize 2021 winners showcase solutions to tackle biodiversity loss, climate change

The UN Development Programme (UNDP) and partners have announced the winners of the 12th Equator Prize, recognising local and Indigenous communities from around the world. The winning organisations showcase local, innovative, nature-based solutions for tackling biodiversity loss and climate change, and achieving their local development goals even during a pandemic.

Harvesting cocoa. The Tropical Forest and Rural Development organisation of Cameroon promotes cocoa-based agroforestry and the collection of forest products for better local incomes while protecting a vulnerable forest

The 10 winning organisations were selected from a pool of over 600 nominations from 126 countries by an independent Technical Advisory Committee of internationally renowned experts. The selection was based on community-based approaches that provide a blueprint for replicating and scaling solutions to address our biodiversity crisis.

Equator Prize winners demonstrate the benefits of placing Indigenous and local communities’ knowledge and practices of nature-based solutions at the heart of local development. At a time when the world is facing an unprecedented planetary crisis, UNDP says it is essential to showcase actions that restore sustainable food systems, mitigate climate change and protect nature – all while also contributing to green recovery from the pandemic.

Equator Prize winners will receive $10,000 and the opportunity to take part in a series of special virtual events associated with the UN General Assembly and the Nature for Life Hub later this year.

They will join a network of 255 communities from over 80 countries that have received the Equator Prize since its inception in 2002. The Equator Prize 2021 Award Ceremony will take place virtually on October 4.

The winners are: BIO-KG Federation of Organic Development (Kyrgyzstan), Tropical Forest and Rural Development (Cameroon), Aadhimalai Pazhangudiyinar Producer Company Limited (India), Farmer Union Maddaben of Falwel and Farmer Union Hareyben of Tera, members of the Féderation des Unions de Groupements Paysans du Niger (FUGPN) MOORIBEN (Niger), Asociación de Jóvenes Reforestadores en Acción (AJORA) (Bolivia), Snehakunja Trust (India), Asociación de Mujeres Indígenas del Territorio Cabécar Kábata Könana (Costa Rica), Cooperativa Mista de Agricultores Familiares, Extrativistas, Pescadores, Vazanteiros, Assentados e Guias turisticos do Cerrado (Brazil), Grupo Ecológico Sierra Gorda IAP (Mexico), and Pueblo Originario Kichwa de Sarayaku (Ecuador).

Latest news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you