Thursday 20th February 2020
Thursday, 20th of February 2020
Home / Cover / Los Angeles Mayor emerges new chair of C40 Cities

Los Angeles Mayor emerges new chair of C40 Cities

Mayor of Los Angeles, Eric Garcetti, has been elected as the new chairman of C40 Cities, a group of 94 cities around the world that represents one-twelfth of the world’s population and one-quarter of the global economy.

Eric Garcetti  Los Angeles Mayor emerges new chair of C40 Cities Eric Garcetti
Eric Garcetti

At the C40 World Mayors Summit in Copenhagen, Denmark, Mayor of Paris and C40 Chair. Anne Hidalgo, on Wednesday, October 9, 2019 officially passed the baton to Garcettiher, the newly-announced chair-elect of C40.

During her time as Chair, Mayor Hidalgo was said to have set the bar for urgent, ambitious, and inclusive climate action to protect, empower, and enable all people to thrive.

Hidalgo reportedly spearheaded C40’s Women4Climate programme as well as presided over some of cities’ forward-thinking climate commitments.

ALSO READ:  Three African nations among beneficiaries to fresh GCF-bankrolled schemes

“Mayor Hidalgo’s bold and brave leadership will continue to serve as an inspiration to C40 mayors around the world,” C40 said in a statement.

With Wednesday’s announcement of support for a Global #GreenNewDeal, Mayor Garcetti and C40 mayors, added C40, have set forth a vision for building upon Mayor Hidalgo’s legacy, focusing on the importance of ensuring a just transition away from fossil fuels and placing climate action at the centre of all urban decision-making.

“C40 mayors from around the world will work together to build and broaden the coalition of young people, business leaders, labour representatives and members of civil society committed to strengthening economies, protecting the environment, and promoting an equitable future through climate action,” stated the group.

ALSO READ:  When UNEP's Erik Solheim visited Côte d'Ivoire

Garcetti is an American politician serving as the 42nd and current mayor of Los Angeles since 2013. A member of the Democratic Party, he was first elected in the 2013 election and won reelection in 2017.

%d bloggers like this: