24.2 C
Wednesday, June 7, 2023

Bonn climate talks: 28 nations to share trials, triumphs

No fewer than 18 developed countries and 10 developing countries will present their actions to date to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and will highlight key achievements and challenges on the road of implementation of these actions.

Patricia Espinosa, executive secretary of the UNFCCC

In a fifth session of the so-called “multilateral assessment”, Belarus, Canada, Cyprus, France, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Japan, Kazakhstan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Portugal, Romania, the Russian Federation, Slovenia, Spain and the United States of America will present progress towards achieving their 2020 quantified economy-wide reductions targets.

The multilateral assessment will take place on Friday, May 12 and Saturday, May 13, 2017.

In a third session of the “facilitative sharing of views”, India, Indonesia, Israel, Malaysia, Mauritania, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, Thailand, Uruguay will present updates on the status of their greenhouse gas emissions and removals, as well as on their actions to reduce emissions.

Importantly, developing countries have the opportunity to highlight their support needs for the implementation of their actions and also have the opportunity to inform as to the support received through both North-South and South-South cooperation.

The facilitative sharing of views will take place on Monday, May 15.

Both processes give countries the opportunity to showcase their progress in implementing mitigation actions. Fully interactive, developed and developing countries engage in an open interaction with other countries on their national GHG inventories, mitigation actions.

Latest news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you

%d bloggers like this: